Post Reply 
Mystic Quest HardType 2.0 Cure Bug
08-25-2016, 10:40 AM
Post: #1
Mystic Quest HardType 2.0 Cure Bug
Hello JCE3000GT i play currently Mystic Quest HardType 2.0

problem is i can not select cure in menu to seftime two charater

d-pad up and down not work moste select and unselect for cure two charater

cane you fix thes ?

PS: you mod is super Hard Grin

sorry for bad english
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-26-2016, 01:26 PM
Post: #2
RE: Mystic Quest HardType 2.0 Cure Bug
Thank you for writing. Are you asking about using Cure outside of battle or inside of battle?

[Image: jce3000gt_md.png]

[Image: jce3000gt.jpg]
^Still adding PC games...
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-26-2016, 11:00 PM
Post: #3
RE: Mystic Quest HardType 2.0 Cure Bug
Didn't I write something about this some time ago when I tested one of your mods?
I think it was outside of battle in the menu, it only worked every second time, you had to choose the spell, cancel it and choose it again to make it work.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-27-2016, 11:44 AM (This post was last modified: 08-27-2016 11:47 AM by Tantalus.)
Post: #4
RE: Mystic Quest HardType 2.0 Cure Bug
(08-26-2016 11:00 PM)Lotex Wrote:  Didn't I write something about this some time ago when I tested one of your mods?
I think it was outside of battle in the menu, it only worked every second time, you had to choose the spell, cancel it and choose it again to make it work.

Yes that's it
in orginal is d-Pad up or down run not in the Mod only Cure Spell
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-27-2016, 02:10 PM
Post: #5
RE: Mystic Quest HardType 2.0 Cure Bug
Ah ok. Yea, that is a bug that I am unable to fix and is due to me removing the ability to use Cure on enemies in battle. I wasn't able to track down that assembly routine outside of the menu to fix it. Sorry for any inconvenience!

[Image: jce3000gt_md.png]

[Image: jce3000gt.jpg]
^Still adding PC games...
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-28-2016, 09:00 AM
Post: #6
RE: Mystic Quest HardType 2.0 Cure Bug
(08-27-2016 02:10 PM)JCE3000GT Wrote:  Ah ok. Yea, that is a bug that I am unable to fix and is due to me removing the ability to use Cure on enemies in battle. I wasn't able to track down that assembly routine outside of the menu to fix it. Sorry for any inconvenience!

hmm the life spell have you new from singel res to dual heal have not problems
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-28-2016, 12:23 PM
Post: #7
RE: Mystic Quest HardType 2.0 Cure Bug
The Life spell is coded differently so that's why the behavior is not the same. :)

[Image: jce3000gt_md.png]

[Image: jce3000gt.jpg]
^Still adding PC games...
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-07-2016, 01:12 PM
Post: #8
RE: Mystic Quest HardType 2.0 Cure Bug
So I was playing around a little and I think I have found the right value for the "targeting" Byte, that lets you be unable to target enemies with spells like heal, but at the same time does not fuck up the targeting in the menu outside of battle.

For example heal: Change the Byte 0x142D6 to 14. With that you can still only use heal on one player, and not on monsters. Using 3C allows you to target both player - outside and inside of battle - without being able to target monsters and not fucking up the menu outside of battle.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-07-2016, 04:58 PM
Post: #9
RE: Mystic Quest HardType 2.0 Cure Bug
Ok cool this is interesting. I'll look in to this and maybe update my editor if everything checks out. I manually changed that data on my rom hack so perhaps it needs investigation.

[Image: jce3000gt_md.png]

[Image: jce3000gt.jpg]
^Still adding PC games...
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-08-2016, 12:50 PM (This post was last modified: 09-08-2016 12:55 PM by Fennor.)
Post: #10
RE: Mystic Quest HardType 2.0 Cure Bug
So in case you really want to update the editor, I think I got behind the whole targeting logic. Here is what I've got:

Just look at every layer, and add the number (they are in hex) depending on what you want.

Layer1: Which enemy is targeted first after selecting the spell in battle

Type1: +00 Automatically target player characters first
Type2: +80 Automatically target monsters first

Layer2: Unknown

Type1: +00 Used by all spells
Type2: +40 Unknown/Don't notice any difference

Layer3: Target Selection Type outside of Battle

Type1: +00 When seleceting the spell first both players will be targeted, after cancelling and using it again only 1 player will be targeted. Not recommended for spells that can be used outside of battle. Is used for damage spells though.
Type2: +10 Only 1 player can be targeted with this spell. Used by life or heal spell.
Type3: +20 Both players get targeted automatically. Can't target only one player. Used by Exit Spell.
Type4: +30 One player gets targeted, you can target both players by pressing down. Used by Cure Spell.

Layer4: How can you target players in battle?

Type1: +00 Can't target players at all
Type2: +04 Can target only 1 player
Type3: +08 Can only target all players at once
Type4: +0c Can target a single player and all players at once

Layer5: How can you target monsters in battle?

Type1: +00 Can't target monsters at all
Type2: +01 Can target only 1 monster
Type3: +02 Can only target all monsters at once
Type4: +03 Can target a single monster and all monsters at once

Example: What value does the target Byte for Cure have?

Layer1: +00, since after selecting the spell players are selected first
Layer2: +00 on default
Layer3: +30, since you can do both, target only 1 player or all players
Layer4: +0c, since you can do both, target only 1 player or all players
Layer5: +3, since you can do both, target only 1 monster or all monsters

00 + 00 + 30 + 0c +3 = 3f

On a sidenote something else about spells: With the editor you can change the max amount of spells a character can use, but it does not change the "current" amount it has in the beginning. So if you increase the max amount you have to sleep first to get then. When you decrease it they will have more than they can actually have at first. The Bytes for the current amount are the 3 Bytes right before thouse of the max amount. Changing the max amount should change them, too.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-08-2016, 09:39 PM
Post: #11
RE: Mystic Quest HardType 2.0 Cure Bug
Thanks. I know I've got most of that documented but any info is appreciated. I'll me the addition with the magic in the editor when i have time. :)

[Image: jce3000gt_md.png]

[Image: jce3000gt.jpg]
^Still adding PC games...
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-29-2016, 01:12 PM (This post was last modified: 12-30-2016 03:44 PM by drag0nwind.)
Post: #12
RE: Mystic Quest HardType 2.0 Cure Bug
Yeah I've noticed this while playing Reborn. You use Cure outside battle the first time and it selects both party members. Use it again and it selects only one. Not a huge deal though.

After testing it more, I see that it doesn't matter what spell you use after Cure. Just click Cure, then cancel, then select Life spell and it will highlight both party members, so it's a 2 for 1 deal. Same with using Heal. But this only happens after selecting either Exit or Cure right after battle
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Mystic Quest Rebalanced Fennor 4 916 11-05-2016 12:48 AM
Last Post: Lotex
  Mystic Quest: Silence Status Effect Fennor 6 982 09-22-2016 05:32 PM
Last Post: JCE3000GT
  Mystic Quest ROM map Fennor 3 630 09-07-2016 04:55 PM
Last Post: JCE3000GT
  Mystic Quest Reborn LITE is available as a reproduction! JCE3000GT 37 6,718 07-23-2016 12:14 PM
Last Post: JCE3000GT
  Mystic Quest Reborn LITE JCE3000GT 1 193 03-04-2016 12:39 PM
Last Post: JCE3000GT
  final fantasy mystic quest save editor problem Clouds67 1 1,229 10-16-2015 12:44 PM
Last Post: JCE3000GT
  [Beta Test] Mystic Quest Reborn LITE JCE3000GT 18 1,504 11-04-2014 02:12 PM
Last Post: Lotex
  Mystic Quest Reborn now available as a cartridge JCE3000GT 2 5,800 10-24-2014 11:49 AM
Last Post: JCE3000GT
  Mystic Quest HardType -- the final beta test update JCE3000GT 13 11,125 05-10-2013 02:24 PM
Last Post: JCE3000GT
  Mystic Quest Reborn / Mystic Quest HardType Release JCE3000GT 5 4,745 01-14-2013 07:12 PM
Last Post: JCE3000GT
  Mystic Quest Hardtype: Spells and their (new?) locations Lotex 2 4,419 08-30-2012 10:29 PM
Last Post: Lotex
  Mystic Quest Reborn Flash Card Link1002 2 2,561 08-26-2012 12:05 PM
Last Post: Link1002

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)